Air Force selects 2017 triathlon team

  • Published
  • By Air Force Services Activity

The Air Force recently selected the 2017 Air Force Triathlon Team that will represent the service at the 2017 Armed Forces Triathlon Championship June 7-11 at Naval Base Ventura County, California.

If nominated at the championship, members will advance to compete at the Conseil International du Sport Militaire World Military Triathlon Championship Aug. 4-8, in Warendorf, Germany. 

Congratulations to:

Coach Col. Spencer Cocanour, Hurlburt Field, Florida

Lt. Col. Jonathan Mason, Pope Army Air Field, North Carolina

Lt. Col. Richard Sumrall, Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado

Lt. Col. Mellissa Tallent, the Pentagon, Washington D.C.

Majs. Brian Hans and Erin O’Connor, Maxwell AFB, Alabama

Maj. Kenneth Corigliano, MacDill AFB, Florida

Maj. Judith Coyle, Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington

Maj. Christina Hopper, Vance AFB, Oklahoma

Maj. Jamie Turner, Joint Base Charleston, South Carolina

Capt. Joel Bischoff, Luke AFB, Arizona

Capt. Phaelen French, Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, Hawaii

Capt. Brett King, Beale AFB, California

Capt. Scott Tonder, Joint Base San Antonio-Fort Sam Houston, Texas

1st Lt. John Bierman, Buckley AFB, Colorado

1st Lt. Carl Eichert, Patrick AFB, Florida

Staff Sgt. Stephanie Bangora, March Air Reserve Base, California

Staff Sgt. Emily Shertzer, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania


Capt. Michael C. Dunn, Buckley AFB, Colorado

Capt. Emma L. Rush, Cannon AFB, New Mexico

For more information on the Air Force sports program, visit